Bay County Requirements

Bay County Florida


Sex Offender Registration Requirements

  1. Required to register 2 or 4 times a year depending on status (offender or predator). All Predators, Offenders convicted of offenses specified in 943.0435(14) and juv offenders convicted of offenses specified in 943.0435(8); 775.21(6)(j) are required to register 4 times a year.

  2. All offenders and predators have to register all permanent and temporary addresses with the sheriff’s office and the DHSMV. An address is considered permanent after 5 consecutive days. A temporary address is any place an offender stays for 5 days or more through the course of a year. All addresses must be registered within 48 hours after establishing the residence.

  3. If an offender/predator has no address, he/she must register a transient address and register a travel/sleep log every week.

  4. All offenders/predators must register within 48 hours of being released from jail or prison. They must also register within 48 hours after being put on or taken off of supervision of any kind.

  5. All offenders/predators must register all electronic email and instant message names within 48 hours of creating them.

  6. Every time an offender/predator changes their address or adds another address they must register that address with DHSMV within 48 hours of registering it with the sheriff’s office. Upon registering their address with the DHSMV they must obtain a new valid Florida ID/DL card that displays one of the following designations: “775.21, F.S.”, “943.0435, F.S.”

  7. At their initial registration, all offenders/predators must provide the sheriff’s office with the following information: name, date of birth, social security number, race, sex, height, weight, hair and eye color, photograph, home telephone and any cellular telephone number, any email addresses and instant message names, address of legal permanent and temporary residences, transient addresses, any dates and locations of any out of state addresses current or future, occupation and place of employment, date and place of each conviction, fingerprints, and a brief description of the crime(s) committed.

  8. All offenders/predators will have their addresses checked/verified throughout the year by local, county, and/or state law enforcement..

  9. Violations of these rules will result in a felony charge of the 2nd and/or 3rd degree

  10. For more information on sex offenders please visit:

For information regarding residency restrictions of sex offenders, please visit: or contact the Sheriff’s Office Sex Offender Registration Unit at 850-248-2174

Updated: May 17, 2016 — 6:02 pm

The Author

Florida SOOSR